Digital Media & Education

‘Digital, Screen and Communication Technologies’ (Cinque, 2015, p.5) are exponentially shaping and defining the future of education. The video below explores mainly the views of Pavlik (2015) and his ideals regarding the four influences of education from technology (p.114).

The setup and layout of the video was quite difficult. I was deciding whether to video myself then overlap different slides or do a slideshow with a voiceover. I decided on the slideshow and voiceover. Talking to a camera and computer is often daunting, but once you get started on it, you get used to it. Most of my friends know that I absolutely hate being in front of a camera for images, let alone video. So this task, pushed me well out of my comfort zone.

In the Prezi presentation, I used Creative Commons images from Flickr. The images I used were (in order of appearance):

The image titled 2012-240 is an image that represents life long learning, because it says that “All are Teachers” and  “All are Learners”. Life long learning is a skill that everyone has but it is the way a particular person accepts this challenge or denies the challenge is how their personal learning will be shaped. The image “Transforming” was used to elaborate the transformation of educational institutions, which was the topic I was talking about on that particular slide. The young digital native image is a visual representation of a digital native (a very young digital native). It also creates a sense of guilt and fear for teachers who do not know how to use a particular medium or program, because the students that they are teaching are often better at using technology than they are.

I only really used one strategy in using scholarly sources in my video, this was using the slideshow technique that I used for majority of the video. The Prezi I created allowed for me to display quotes on the screen and respond to them whilst they were on the screen.

There were many a challenge that came about from this video. I nearly even ended up like this at one stage.

14583206816_dab2d7c97d_o
Frustration (https://flic.kr/p/odEKjh) by amenclinicsphotos ac (CC-BY-SA 2.0)

The main challenges I faced was Time, sticking to a 7 minute time limit is impossible when you are discussing something you are passionate about. So, how did I go about the time limit issue, well I split the video and did a second 3 minute video, which is embedded below (The assessment task didn’t say we couldn’t do this).

Another issue was video export settings, YouTube told me that a video using certain codecs (YouTube recommended) would upload quicker when in reality the codec I was already using, worked much faster.

One thing that I learnt the most from this experience, is a few of the settings of YouTube, like annotations and the upload process. I now can relate to how the YouTubers I watch on a daily basis, the amount of work that goes into their videos and the time it takes to upload them.

I enjoyed creating the video and using Adobe Premiere to edit it together, but I think I’ll stick to being behind the camera not in front of the camera. Being in front of the camera is something that I will always hate whether it’s for image or moving image. The only reason I want to be in front of the camera in future is for my staff identification as a teacher, when I need to pose like this.

5161919302_c4221a0830_o
taro the shiba, image for the therapy dog ID (https://flic.kr/p/8S9bLE) by Taro the Shiba Inu (CC-BY 2.0)

 

Word Count: 622

My Broader Online Activity and Engagement.

So since Assessment Task 1 for ALC203, my blog engagement has somewhat slipped due to the amount of assessment tasks that are thrown at students towards the end of trimester. During this time though,  I have still remained active on Twitter and participated in two of the Tiffit challenges as shown below. My Tiffit Tally Score also reflects an active engagement during the unit. This unit has been an amazing experience and will probably remain one of my favourite classes throughout my degree. It has been great to be able to network with other students who share a common interest.

Word Count: 107 (because of my last sentence).

Reid 🙂 – Don’t forget to check out my Twitter and YouTube Channel

References:

Music:
DoctorVox – Frontier (https://soundcloud.com/argofox/doctor-vox-frontier) by Argofox (CC-BY 3.0)
DOCTOR VOX – Frontier: youtu.be/lkY3Ek9VPtg

Scholarly Sources:
Bergmann, J. & Sams A., 2012, Flip your Classroom: Reach Every Student in Every Class Every Day. 1st ed. United States of America: International Society for Technology in Education.

Brabazon, T., 2014, Learning to leisure? When social media becomes educational media, Digital Culture & Education, vol. 6, no. 2, pp.82-97

Cinque, T 2015 Changing Media Landscapes: Visual Networking. South Melbourne; Oxford University Press.

Chatfield, T, 2016, The classroom of the Future, NewPhilosopher, no. 12, pp.35-36.

Pavlik, J.V, 2015, Fueling a Third Paradigm of Education: The Pedagogical Implications of Digital, Social and Mobile Media, Contemporary Educational Technology, vol.6, no. 2, pp.113 -125

Leave a Reply

